Home > Curriculum


Curriculum at Bacton Primary School

At Bacton Primary School we deliver a broad and balanced curriculum through the delivery of the National Curriculum. Each subject area is well planned and monitored to ensure progression and continuity of learning for all pupils across the school. How and what your child is taught will be communicated to you by the class teacher through termly curriculum newsletters.

Bacton Primary Curriculum Overview

Children’s education is divided up into the following five stages:     

Foundation Stage      3-5 Years

Key Stage One           from 5-7 Years

Key Stage Two           from 7-11 Years

Key Stage Three         from 11-14 Years

Key Stage Four           from 14-16 Years

The teaching and learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage is organised into areas of experience rather than individual subjects. These areas are as follows:

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive arts and design.

The teaching and learning for the other Key Stages consists of 11 subjects which make up the National Curriculum.
These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Art
  • Languages
  • Physical Education  

“Teachers’ expectations of what pupils can achieve are high and are reflected in the good work seen in books. Excellent examples of pupils’ work are celebrated and displayed in classrooms and corridors to show other pupils what can be achieved. Knowledgeable teaching, clear explanations and well-managed classes all contribute to pupils’ good achievement.”   

(Ofsted 2015)

Organisation of the Curriculum

Our curriculum has undergone major development and is now taught through a ‘topic’ based approach.

During the morning children are generally taught two subjects which would normally be based around English and Mathematics.  These could, quite frequently have links to any of the other National Curriculum subjects. In the afternoon the children usually have two lessons; however our timetables change constantly and are flexible enough to allow the teachers to explore subjects in more depth and to develop links between subjects.  Whilst using the National Curriculum and other statutory documentation we have adapted and enhanced units of study for each subject, which details exactly what is taught to each year group on a progressive basis.